Hardik Pandya became the captain of the T20 team against Sri Lanka; Rishabh Pant is not part of the team


Indian cricket began a phase of change on December 27, 2022, with premier all-rounder Hardik Pandya being named the captain of the T20I team for the upcoming series against Sri Lanka, starting January 3.

The 27-year-old Baroda man has also been named as the vice-captain of the ODI team, indicating the current regime’s plans to look at him as the long-term white-ball leader when Rohit Sharma, 35, takes over the time. Decided to call. Brilliant international career.

While Rohit, who has recovered from a finger injury, was named captain of the ODI series that is to follow the T20Is, it makes sense that the shortest format will now feature new faces and mainly IPL performers.

Even Virat Kohli and KL Rahul are not part of the T20I format and there are indications that the pair may not be picked again with Rohit keeping in mind the 2024 T20 World Cup.

The troika will probably be asked to focus on the 50-over format with the World Cup set to be played in India next year.

He said, ‘Yes, there will be no official announcement that Rohit has been dropped from T20 International captaincy but he will be out of the format along with Kohli and Rahul. Apparently, Rohit’s thumb injury hasn’t fully healed though he has started training. But the phasing out has actually started,” a senior BCCI source privy to the development told PTI on condition of anonymity.

Suryakumar Yadav, on top of his stellar year, is now the new vice-captain in T20Is.

Pandya, who led Gujarat Titans to IPL victory during the previous edition, was seen as Rohit’s replacement after playing archaic cricket as India lost to England in the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup.

While Rohit is still recovering from a thumb dislocation, the BCCI press release did not specify whether this is a permanent change or just for one series.

There is a new look in the T20I squad with the inclusion of two uncapped pacers Shivam Mavi and Mukesh Kumar in the shortest format.

Mavi was bought by Titans for ₹6 crore, while Bengal’s Mukesh was bought by Delhi Capitals for ₹5.50 crore.

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Rahul Tripathi, two powerhouse performers of the IPL, made it to the T20 squad.

The ODI side boasts of looking more experienced with Mohammed Shami returning from a shoulder injury.

Rishabh Pant leaves for NCA

Rishabh Pant is not part of both the limited-overs squads and is understood to have been asked to report to the NCA for a two-week knee-strengthening rehabilitation programme. Hence, he will miss the entire Sri Lanka series.

But the BCCI statement did not mention whether he was rested or dropped.

End of the road for Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan, one of India’s contemporary white-ball greats, has played perhaps his last match for the country after a prolonged bad patch saw him ruled out of the national ODI set-up.

Ironically, even in a series before Bangladesh, he was leading the side in New Zealand, but his dismal drop in scoring rate as well as not being able to string together a series of consistent scores went against him.

With Ishan Kishan hitting the fastest double century in less than a month, Rohit a white-ball legend and Shubman Gill in prime ODI form, India have a number of options and could look beyond Dhawan.

as told by PTI On 11 December, Dhawan has now been predictably dropped and it is probably the end of the road for India’s star players in the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy and 2015 World Cup, where he was the highest scorer.

India squad for Sri Lanka T20I:

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Ishan Kishan (WK), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik , Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

ODI Team:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (WK), Ishaan Kishan (WK), Hardik Pandya (VC), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Akshar Patel, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh.


Source link

Leave a Comment