Rohit Sharma out of 1st Test vs Bangladesh, KL Rahul to lead India in his absence


Indian captain Rohit Sharma was on Sunday ruled out of the first Test against Bangladesh due to a thumb injury. The BCCI named Abhimanyu Easwaran in his place for the opening Test starting on Wednesday, December 14. Rohit had injured his left thumb while fielding during the second ODI against Bangladesh in Mirpur earlier this week and was later taken for a scan. in a local hospital. Easwaran has joined the squad for the India ‘A’ team currently touring Bangladesh after scoring 299 runs in two matches. In his absence, KL Rahul will lead the team.

The BCCI also said that they will take a call on Rohit’s availability for the second and final Test later.

“India captain Rohit Sharma visited a specialist in Mumbai for the injury to his left thumb, which he suffered during the second ODI against Bangladesh. He has been advised proper management of the injury and is expected to return to Bangladesh. will be unavailable for the first Test against India. The BCCI medical team will decide on his availability later for the second and final Test. The All India Senior Selection Committee has named Abhimanyu Easwaran as his replacement for the first Test,” BCCI said in a statement.

Navdeep Saini and Saurabh Kumar were also included in India’s squad, with fast bowler Mohammed Shami and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja yet to recover from their respective injuries.

Veteran fast bowler Jaydev Unadkat has also been called back into the squad after his performances in the domestic circuit with Saurashtra.

“Fast bowler Mohammed Shami and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja are yet to fully recover from their shoulder and knee injuries and have been ruled out of the Test series. The selectors named Navdeep Saini and Saurabh Kumar in place of Shami and Jadeja respectively. The selection committee has also included fast bowler Jaydev Unadkat in the Indian team for the Test series.

India’s updated squad for Bangladesh Test: KL Rahul (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara (VC), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat

Topics covered in this article


Source link

Leave a Comment